Sheedy Teaching Award

The Sheedy Excellence in Teaching Award is presented annually to an outstanding teacher in the College of Arts and Letters.

The Sheedy Award was founded in 1970 in honor of Rev. Charles E. Sheedy, C.S.C., who served as dean of the College from 1951–69, and acknowledges a faculty member who has sustained excellence in research and instruction over a wide range of courses. This individual must also motivate and enrich students using innovative and creative teaching methods and influence teaching and learning within the department, College, and University.

2020 Award Recipient

Professor Pamela Wojcik

Wojcik 600

Pamela Wojcik is a professor and chair of the Department of Film, Television, and Theatre and a concurrent professor in the Department of American Studies and the Gender Studies Program

She joined the Arts & Letters faculty in 1998 and focuses her research on American film, with particular emphasis on issues of space, gender, performance, and genre. She teaches both introductory and advanced film courses on a variety of topics — including the history of the movie musical, the career and image of Frank Sinatra, and the construction of masculinity in American film.

A past president of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies, Wojcik also won a Guggenheim fellowship in 2020 for her current book project, Unhomed: Mobility and Placelessness in American Cinema. That project explores America’s ambivalent and shifting attitude toward placelessness through marginalized figures — including tramps, hitchhikers, the homeless, and contemporary youth. 

She will accept the award during a virtual ceremony on Tuesday, November 17.

Previous Award Recipients

Year   Recipient Media Department
2020 Pamela Wojcik Video, News story Film, Television, and Theatre
2019 Jason Ruiz Video, Speech, News story American Studies
2018 Ernesto Verdeja Video, SpeechNews story Political Science
2017 Jessica Collett Video, SpeechNews story Sociology
2016 Marisel Moreno Video, SpeechNews story Romance Languages and Literatures
2015 Robert Sedlack Video, News story Art, Art History, and Design
2014 John Sitter VideoSpeech, News story English
2013 Julia Douthwaite Video, News story Romance Languages and Literatures
2012 Peter Holland VideoSpeech Film, Television, and Theatre
2011 Thomas F.X. Noble Speech History
2010 James Collins Speech Film, Television, and Theatre
2009 Richard Pierce Speech Africana Studies
2008 James McKenna Speech Anthropology
2007 Daniel Myers Speech Sociology
2006 Christian Moevs Speech Romance Languages and Literatures
2005 Gail Bederman (co-recipient) Speech History
2005 William Ramsey (co-recipient) Speech Philosophy
2004 William H. Leahy (co-recipient) Speech Economics and Policy Studies
2004 A. Peter Walshe (co-recipient) Speech Political Science
2003 Valerie Sayers Speech English
2002 Andrew Weigert Student reflections: Christopher Broughton, Eugene Kang, and Sarah MacMillen Sociology
2001 Stephen M. Fallon (co-recipient) Speech Program of Liberal Studies
2001 Wilson “Bill” Miscamble, C.S.C. (co-recipient) Speech History
2000 Reginald F. Bain Speech Film, Television, and Theatre
1999 Douglas Kinsey Speech Art, Art History, and Design
1998 Erskine Peters   English
1997 Frederick J. Crosson   Program of Liberal Studies
1996 Catherine LaCugna   Theology
1995 A. James McAdams   Government and Int’l Relations
1994 Rev. Robert Kerby   History
1993 Jeanne Day (co-recipient)   Psychology
1993 Timothy Scully (co-recipient)   Government and Int’l Relations
1992 Thomas Swartz   Economics
1991 William Krier   English
1990 Sonia G. Gernes   English
1989 Richard F. Foley   Philosophy
1988 Rev. George Minamiki, S.J.   Modern & Classical Languages
1987 Cornelius Delaney   Philosophy
1986 James O. Bellis   Anthropology
1985 M. Katherine Tillman   Program of Liberal Studies
1984 Frank Bonello   Economics
1983 John Roos   Government and Int’l Relations
1983 Paul Rathburn   English
1982 Sheilah Brennan   Philosophy
1981 Thomas Werge   English
1980 Donald Sniegowski   English
1979 Rev. Thomas Blantz, C.S.C.   History
1978 Rev. John Dunne, C.S.C.   Theology
1977 Edward Cronin   Program of Liberal Studies
1976 Ernest Sandeen   English
1975 Matthew Fitzsimons   History
1974 Michael Loux   Philosophy
1973 Robert Vacca   Modern & Classical Languages
1972 William Storey   Theology
1971 Frank O’Malley   English
1970 Joseph Evans   Philosophy