Sheedy Excellence in Teaching Award

The Sheedy Excellence in Teaching Award is presented annually to an outstanding teacher in the College of Arts & Letters.

The Sheedy Award — founded in 1970 in honor of Rev. Charles E. Sheedy, C.S.C., who served as dean of the College from 1952 to 1968 — acknowledges a faculty member who has sustained excellence in research and instruction over a wide range of courses. This individual motivates and enriches students using innovative and creative teaching methods, and influences teaching and learning within the department, College, and University.

Faculty can be nominated for the award by peers and students.  Nominations for the 2024 year are now closed, and a winner will be announced in the fall. The College of Arts & Letters will open nominations for the 2025 Sheedy Excellence in Teaching Award in the spring. 

2023 Award Recipient

Eric Sims

Eric Sims

Eric Sims is the Michael P. Grace II Collegiate Chair and current chair of the Department of Economics. A member of the Notre Dame faculty since 2009, he is a macroeconomist whose research focuses on business cycles and monetary and fiscal policies. Sims teaches classes in macroeconomics and monetary policy at both the undergraduate and graduate levels and is a past recipient of the Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C. Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. He has also co-authored an online textbook for use in intermediate macroeconomics courses. 

Sims received the Sheedy Award for Excellence in Teaching at a ceremony on Wednesday, Dec. 6, in the new Raclin Murphy Museum of Art.

“Eric Sims has a special gift of transmitting his love for the subject to his students and stimulating a thirst for knowledge and inquiry among his students. His commitment to teaching goes beyond delivering lectures and developing skills but is driven by the strong desire to make a difference in students’ lives.” 

— Christiane Baumeister, the Lambert Family Professor of Economics

Previous Award Recipients

Year   Recipient Media Department
2023 Eric Sims Video, Speech, News story Economics
2022 John Duffy Video, Speech, News story English
2021 Kathleen Sprows Cummings Video, SpeechNews story American Studies and History
2020 Pamela Wojcik Video, SpeechNews story Film, Television, and Theatre
2019 Jason Ruiz Video, Speech, News story American Studies
2018 Ernesto Verdeja Video, SpeechNews story Political Science
2017 Jessica Collett Video, SpeechNews story Sociology
2016 Marisel Moreno Video, SpeechNews story Romance Languages and Literatures
2015 Robert Sedlack Video Art, Art History, and Design
2014 John Sitter VideoSpeech English
2013 Julia Douthwaite Video Romance Languages and Literatures
2012 Peter Holland VideoSpeech Film, Television, and Theatre
2011 Thomas F.X. Noble Speech History
2010 James Collins Speech Film, Television, and Theatre
2009 Richard Pierce Speech Africana Studies
2008 James McKenna Speech Anthropology
2007 Daniel Myers Speech Sociology
2006 Christian Moevs Speech Romance Languages and Literatures
2005 Gail Bederman (co-recipient) Speech History
2005 William Ramsey (co-recipient) Speech Philosophy
2004 William H. Leahy (co-recipient) Speech Economics and Policy Studies
2004 A. Peter Walshe (co-recipient) Speech Political Science
2003 Valerie Sayers Speech English
2002 Andrew Weigert Student reflections: Christopher Broughton, Eugene Kang, and Sarah MacMillen Sociology
2001 Stephen M. Fallon (co-recipient) Speech Program of Liberal Studies
2001 Wilson “Bill” Miscamble, C.S.C. (co-recipient) Speech History
2000 Reginald F. Bain Speech Film, Television, and Theatre
1999 Douglas Kinsey Speech Art, Art History, and Design
1998 Erskine Peters   English
1997 Frederick J. Crosson   Program of Liberal Studies
1996 Catherine LaCugna   Theology
1995 A. James McAdams   Government and Int’l Relations
1994 Rev. Robert Kerby   History
1993 Jeanne Day (co-recipient)   Psychology
1993 Timothy Scully (co-recipient)   Government and Int’l Relations
1992 Thomas Swartz   Economics
1991 William Krier   English
1990 Sonia G. Gernes   English
1989 Richard F. Foley   Philosophy
1988 Rev. George Minamiki, S.J.   Modern & Classical Languages
1987 Cornelius Delaney   Philosophy
1986 James O. Bellis   Anthropology
1985 M. Katherine Tillman   Program of Liberal Studies
1984 Frank Bonello   Economics
1983 John Roos   Government and Int’l Relations
1983 Paul Rathburn   English
1982 Sheilah Brennan   Philosophy
1981 Thomas Werge   English
1980 Donald Sniegowski   English
1979 Rev. Thomas Blantz, C.S.C.   History
1978 Rev. John Dunne, C.S.C.   Theology
1977 Edward Cronin   Program of Liberal Studies
1976 Ernest Sandeen   English
1975 Matthew Fitzsimons   History
1974 Michael Loux   Philosophy
1973 Robert Vacca   Modern & Classical Languages
1972 William Storey   Theology
1971 Frank O’Malley   English
1970 Joseph Evans   Philosophy