Graduate Research Symposium Award Winners Announced

Author: Mary Hendriksen

The Graduate Student Union hosted the University of Notre Dame’s fourth annual Graduate Research Symposium on Friday, February 24, in the Great Hall of the Jordan Hall of Science.

The symposium showcased the accomplishments of Notre Dame graduate students in the Graduate School’s four divisions: engineering, humanities, science, and social science. Attended by graduate and undergraduate students, faculty, and community visitors, the goal of the event was to provide a scholarly but informal environment to facilitate conversations between graduate students and symposium guests.

The symposium was supported by the Graduate School, and the Colleges of Engineering, Science, and Arts and Letters.

The winners in each category:


  • First place: Nicholaus Bonneau, History
  • Second place: Charles Pence, History and Philosophy of Science


  • First place: John Hauck, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering*
    Second place: Ann Dallman, Civil Engineering and Geological Sciences

Social Sciences

  • First place: Jason Rastovski, Economics
  • Second place: Andrew Bramson, Political Science


  • First place: Keshia Koehn, Civil Engineering and Geological Sciences
  • Second place: Bryan Smith, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Forum Topic Award

  • (tie) Charles Pence , History and Philosophy of Science
  • (tie) Quinn Lathrop, Psychology

Originally published at