Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Established in fall 2020, the College of Arts and Letters Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (DEIC) leads the College’s efforts to build a diverse community animated and sustained by a culture of inclusiveness. 

The committee promotes an inclusive and equitable climate; facilitates the recruitment, retention, and development of a flourishing diverse community; and sustains and champions innovative and inclusive scholarship and teaching. It coordinates with University-wide efforts and implements and monitors progress on College-level initiatives to address all aspects of diversity, equity, and inclusion — including those identified by faculty, students, and other College members or groups.

The committee is co-chaired by Ernest Morrell, the associate dean for the humanities and equity and Coyle Professor in Literacy Education, and Dianne Pinderhughes, a professor of political science and Africana studies.

Questions, comments, and suggestions are always welcome at aldeic@nd.edu.

Email the committee

Visit the College's Diversity & Inclusion page

Learn about the new Initiative on Race and Resilience

Class discussion of Toni Morrison

Committee Members

Notre Dame Resources

Human Resources Diversity and Inclusion page

Horane Diatta-Holgate, Program Director for Inclusive Pedagogy, Kaneb Center for Teaching Excellence

Multicultural Student Programs and Services

Notre Dame Principles of Diversity and Inclusion

Policies and Reporting

Office of Institutional Equity — "Get Help" page

Graduate School — Report a Concern page

Speak Up — forms and resources for reporting concerns

President's Oversight Committee on Diversity and Inclusion

President's Executive Diversity Council

Board of Trustees' Task Force Report on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Provost's Inclusive Excellence page

Provost's Diversity Resources for Faculty page

Interfaith Resources

Employee Resource Groups