Teaching Awards Honor Work With Undergraduates

Author: Arts and Letters

Twenty University of Notre Dame faculty members have received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and three faculty were honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, but recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

Dockweiler Award winners are: Francis Connolly, professor of mathematics; Julliet Mayinja, associate director in the Office of International Studies; and Ava Preacher, assistant dean and associate director of undergraduate studies in the College of Arts and Letters.

The 20 winners of Joyce teaching excellence awards represent faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations. Recipients are: Carl Ackermann, finance; Gary Anderson, theology; Seth Brown, chemistry and biochemistry; Noriko Hanabusa, East Asian languages and cultures; Paul Helquist, chemistry and biochemistry; Mary Catherine Hilkert, O.P., theology; Joshua Kaplan, political science; Ian Kuijt, anthropology; Gary Lamberti, biological sciences; Sylvia Lin, East Asian languages and cultures; David O’Connor, philosophy and classics; David Ruccio, economics and policy studies; William Schmuhl, accountancy; Robert Sedlack, art, art history and design; Mihir Sen, aerospace and mechanical engineering; Dennis Snow, mathematics; John Staud, Alliance for Catholic Education; Henry Weinfield, liberal studies; Michelle Whaley, science; and Susan Youens, music.

The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937. This is the third year that advisors and student mentors are being honored through an award supported by the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation.

Originally published by Shannon Chapla at newsinfo.nd.edu on April 24, 2009.