Teaching awards honor exemplary work with undergraduates

Author: Arts and Letters


Nineteen University of Notre Dame faculty members have received teaching excellence awards on the strength of faculty and student nominations, and three faculty with strong dedication to student advising also are being honored.

Eighteen faculty members are recipients of Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and another is being lauded for excellence in international and off-campus teaching. Student advisors are being honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, but recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

  • Dockweiler Award winners are: Paul Grimstad, associate professor and assistant chair of biological sciences; Catherine Pieronek, director of academic affairs for the College of Engineering; and Holly Rivers, academic coordinator for the Kellogg Institute. The Dockweiler Award recognizes faculty and staff who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to undergraduates through mentoring, academic advising or career counseling services.

* Cornelius O’Boyle, associate director of the London Undergraduate Program, has been named recipient of the International and Off-Campus Teaching Award. The award recognizes the pedagogical excellence of a faculty member who teaches for the University’s abroad or off-campus programs administered by the Office of International Studies.

* The 18 winners of Joyce teaching excellence awards represent faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations. Recipients are: David E. Campbell, political science; Laura A. Carlson, psychology; James Collins, film, television and theatre; Lawrence Cunningham, theology; Alan DeFrees, architecture; Jeffrey Diller, mathematics; Malgorzata Dobrowolska-Furyna, physics; John Duffy, English; J. William Goodwine, aerospace and mechanical engineering; Michael Hildreth, physics; Edward Hums, accountancy; Yahya Kurama, civil engineering and geological sciences; Timothy Loughran, finance; Julia Marvin, Program of Liberal Studies; James J. McKenna, anthropology; Thomas Noble, Medieval Institute; Catherine Schlegel, the Classics; Hannelore Weber, German and Russian languages and literatures.

The selection process for rewarding teaching excellence was revised by the Office of the Provost last year to welcome nominations from students. The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937. This is the second year that advisors and student mentors are being honored through an award supported by the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation.

Originally published by Gail Hinchion Mancini at newsinfo.nd.edu on May 01, 2008.