Teaching Awards Honor Exemplary Work With Undergraduates

Author: Shannon Roddel

teaching awards

A select group of University of Notre Dame faculty members have received the Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and the Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, but recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

The Dockweiler award winners are Bill Goodwine, associate professor of aerospace and mechanical engineering; Ian Kuijt, professor of anthropology; and Felicitas Munzel, associate professor of liberal studies.

The 20 winners of the Joyce awards represent faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations.

Recipients are: Rev. Thomas Blantz, C.S.C., history; Matt Bloom, management; Susan Blum, anthropology; Robert Coleman, art history; Philippe Collon, physics; Michael Gekhtman, mathematics; Ken Henderson, chemistry and biochemistry; Romana Huk, English; Debdeep Jena, electrical engineering; Lionel Jensen, East Asian languages and cultures; Marya Lieberman, chemistry and biochemistry; Bradley Malkovsky, theology; Jamie O’Brien, accountancy; Janet O’Tousa, accountancy; Catherine Perry, Romance languages and literatures; Maria Rosa Olivera-Williams, Romance languages and literatures; Phil Sloan, liberal studies and history; James Sullivan, economics; Joannes Westerink, civil engineering and geological sciences; and Martin Wolfson, economics.

The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937. This is the fourth year that advisors and student mentors are being honored through an award supported by the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation.

Originally published by News and Information.