Seniors receive national scholarships and fellowships

Author: Arts and Letters


The National Science Foundation, Fulbright Educational Exchange Program, Marshall Scholarship Program and other national organizations have awarded postgraduate scholarships and fellowships to 20 University of Notre Dame seniors.

Jonathan Bischof, Granger, Ind.; Rebecca Ladewski, Lawrence, Mich.; and Elizabeth Rollins, Houston, received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships.

Naomi Hansen, Barrington, Ill., received a Humanity in Action Fellowship.

Ted Brown, Kokomo, Ind., received an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

Nine seniors have received Fulbright grants for study abroad. They are: Monica Boomer, Brighton, Mich., to Jordan; Nicholas Coleman, Wayzata, Minn., to Indonesia; Kim-Lu Del Guercio, Parsippany, N.J., to South Korea; Juan Gastelum, Nogales, Ariz., to Spain; Timothy Loh, Fairfield, Conn., to Germany; Mary Anne Lukeman, Springfield, Va., to Uruguay; Adam Snider, South Bend, to Austria; Zachary Stewart, Spokane, Wash., to the United Kingdom; and Stephen Zakas, Granger, Ind., to Austria.

Four seniors received French Government Teaching Assistantships. They are: Samantha Alaire-Leca, Johnson, R.I.; Michael P. Barrett, Clifton, Va.; Danielle Danaher, Lee’s Summit, Mo.; and Andrea Nolet, Danville, Ky.

Charles Tyler, Valrico, Fla., received a Beinecke Scholarship.

Meg Towle, Leawood, Kan., received a Marshall Scholarship for studies in the United Kingdom.

Originally published by William G. Gilroy at on May 15, 2007.