Provost announces faculty promotions, new Web site

Author: Arts and Letters


The Office of the Provost at the University of Notre Dame has announced the promotion of 53 faculty members across the University’s five colleges, Graduate School, Law School and Hesburgh Libraries.

Information on faculty who have been promoted .

Faculty promotions are:

College of Arts and Letters

  • To professor: Charles E. Barber, art, art history and design; Laura A. Carlson, psychology; Agustin Fuentes, anthropology; Gabriel A. Radvansky, psychology; Michael C. Rea, psychology; Ke-Hai Yuan, psychology
  • To tenure-track associate professor: Rev. Paulinus I. Odozor, C.S.Sp., theology; David Wayne Thomas, English
  • To tenured associate professor: Christine A. Becker, film, television and theatre (FTT); John A. Blacklow, music; Jon T. Coleman, history; Keir A. Lieber, political science; Sylvia Li-chun Lin, East Asian Languages and Cultures; Gitta Lubke, psychology
  • To associate professional specialist: Connie L. Mick, University Writing Program; Shauna L. Williams, Romance languages and literatures
  • To professional specialist: Siiri S. Scott, FTT; Anre Venter, psychology
  • To emeritus: James O. Bellis, anthropology; Brother Lois Hurcik, C.S.C., physical education and wellness; Donald P. Kommers, political science; George M. Marsden, history; Vaughn R. McKim, philosophy; Thomas J. Schlereth, American studies

College of Science

  • To endowed professor: Bradley T. Smith, Emil T. Hofman Chair in Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • To professor: Boldizsr Jank, physics
  • To tenured associate professor: Patricia L. Clark, chemistry and biochemistry; Michael T. Ferdig, biological sciences
  • To emeritus: Walter R. Johnson, physics
    College of Engineering
  • To professor: Patrick J. Fay, electrical engineering; Xiaobo Sharon Hu, computer science and engineering; Joseph M. Powers, aerospace and mechanical engineering
  • To tenured associate professor: J. Nicholas Laneman, electrical engineering; Scott C. Morris, aerospace and mechanical engineering
  • To research professor: Alexander Mintairov, electrical engineering; Alexei Orlov, electrical engineering
  • To emeritus: Albert E. Miller, chemical and biomolecular engineering

Mendoza College of Business

  • To associate professional specialist: Janet L. O’Tousa, accountancy
  • To emeritus: Michael J. Etzel, marketing; LeRoy J. Krajewski, management

School of Architecture

  • To tenure-track associate professor: David T. Mayernik and Steven W. Semes
  • To professional specialist: Alan R. DeFrees
  • To emeritus: Norman A. Crowe

Graduate School

  • To professional specialist: Barbara M. Turpin

Law School

  • To professor: Anthony J. Bellia Jr., Patricia L. Bellia, Nicole S. Garnett and Richard W. Garnett
  • To tenure-track associate professor: Amy Coney Barrett

Hesburgh Libraries

  • To librarian: Carole J. Pilkinton
  • To associate librarian: Jessica N. Kayongo and Cheryl S. Smith

Originally published by Julie Hail Flory at on May 22, 2008.