11 Arts and Letters faculty receive undergraduate teaching and advising awards

Author: Notre Dame News

Bj 4

Nine Arts and Letters faculty members have received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and two have been honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, and the recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

The Joyce Awards, established in 2007, are supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates of Notre Dame’s Class of 1937. They honor faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching, and, in particular, recognize professors who create environments that stimulate significant student learning, elevate students to a new level of intellectual engagement and foster students’ ability to express themselves effectively within their disciplines.

The Dockweiler Awards, established in 2007 with a gift from the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation, recognize faculty or staff members who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to Notre Dame undergraduates through outstanding mentoring, academic advising or career counseling services.

Joyce Award recipients

Patricia Blanchette, philosophy

John Duffy, English

Andrew Gould, political science

Matthew Hall, political science

Elena Mangione-Lora, Romance languages and literatures

Terence McDonnell, sociology

David O’Connor, philosophy

Timothy O’Malley, theology/ND Center for Liturgy

Yeonhee Yoon, East Asian languages and literatures


Dockweiler Award recipients

Mary Flannery, economics

Nicholas Russo, Office of Undergraduate Studies, College of Arts and Letters


Originally published by Notre Dame News at news.nd.edu on May 08, 2019.