Conference to Celebrate Notre Dame Poets

Author: Julie Hail Flory

Open Light poets

The University of Notre Dame’s Creative Writing Program will present “The Open Light: A Celebration of Notre Dame Poets,” a conference that will be held Monday through Wednesday, March 29 to 31, 2010, highlighting the accomplishments of the diverse group of poets who have studied or taught at Notre Dame.

An accompanying anthology, The Open Light: Poets from Notre Dame, 1991-2008, will be published, featuring a foreword by Orlando Ricardo Menes, professor of poetry in the Creative Writing Program.

All readings, which are free and open to the public, will take place in rooms 100-104 of McKenna Hall.

The first reading will be held March 29 at 3 p.m., featuring presentations by poets Jenny Boully, Beth Ann Fennelly, and Kimberly Blaeser, followed by a reception at 4:30 p.m. At 5 p.m., current Notre Dame graduate students will present papers and give readings from The Open Light anthology. At 8 p.m., poets Joyelle McSweeney, Robert Archambeau, and Cornelius Eady will present readings.

On March 30, the first reading will be held at 3 p.m., featuring poets Francisco Aragón, Jacque Brogan, and John Wilkinson, followed by presentations and readings by graduate students at 4:30 p.m. At 8 p.m., there will be readings by Henry Weinfield, Orlando Menes, and Mary Hawley.

On March 31, Letras Latinas will sponsor a breakfast reception at 9:30 a.m. in the atrium of the Julian Samora Library, located room 204 of McKenna Hall, followed by panel discussions on poetry, poetics, and the poet’s education at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

More information and a complete schedule of events are available here.

Contact: Coleen Hoover, Creative Writing Program, 574.631.7526,

Originally published by