5 professors earn NEH Awards; ND leads nation for past 8 years

Author: Arts and Letters


Five University of Notre Dame faculty members have received research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for 2007, bringing to 29 the number of NEH fellowships awarded to Notre Dame in the past eight years, more than any other university in the nation.

This year’s NEH recipients from Notre Dame’s College of Arts and Letters are:

  • Michael Brownstein, associate professor of East Asian languages and literatures, for a project titled “Four Japanese Melodramas.”
  • Margaret Doody, John and Barbara Glynn Professor of Literature, for “Mystics and the Enlightenment: Pico, Para, and Jacob.”
  • Mary Ann Burgess Smyth, assistant professor of English, for “British Modernism and the Four Nations.”
  • James Turner, Rev. John J. Cavanaugh, C.S.C., Professor of Humanities and professor of history, for “Philology and the Shaping of the Modern Humanities.”
  • Catherine Zuckert, Nancy Reeves Dreux Professor of Political Science, for “Machiavellian Politics.”

NEH fellowships support advanced research that contributes to scholarly knowledge or to the general public’s understanding of the humanities. Recipients usually produce articles, monographs on specialized subjects, books on broad topics, archaeological site reports, translations, editions, or other scholarly tools.

The Notre Dame faculty members are among 161 scholars who received fellowships and faculty research awards in the most recent NEH award cycle.

Originally published by Dennis Brown at newsinfo.nd.edu on January 24, 2007.