22 Arts and Letters faculty members receive Kaneb teaching awards

Author: Arts and Letters

The University of Notre Dame has selected 47 outstanding undergraduate faculty members as recipients of the seventh annual Kaneb Teaching Awards. The honored teachers will be recognized May 21 (Sunday) during the University’s 161st Commencement exercises.

Created with a gift from Notre Dame Trustee John A. Kaneb, the awards demonstrate the full extent of teaching excellence at the University. The Kaneb awards are apportioned among faculty of the University’s four undergraduate colleges and its School of Architecture. Each academic unit has established its own criteria for the awards, but all include student input, such as the results of students’ teacher course evaluations.

Because their intent is to recognize teaching excellence that is demonstrated over time, the awards are given to faculty who have been active full time in undergraduate teaching for at least five years. The awards include a cash prize of $1,000.

The Kaneb Teaching Award recipients for this year are:

  • *In the College of Arts and Letters: * Thomas Anderson, Ivis Menes and Kathleen Werner, Romance languages and literatures; Paul Cobb, Richard Pierce and Robert Sullivan, history; Luke Gibbons and Graham Hammill, English; Mark Gunty and Charles Pressler, sociology; Frances Hagopian and Joshua Kaplan, political science; Ethan Haimo and Carolyn Plummer, music; Edward Kelly, University Writing Program; Robert Krieg and Tim Matovina, theology; Martha Merritt, Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies; Clark Power, Program of Liberal Studies; Vera Profit, German and Russian languages and literatures; Thomas Schlereth, American studies; and Paul Weithman, philosophy.
  • In the College of Engineering: Stephen Batill and Patrick Dunn, aerospace and mechanical engineering; Ramzi Bualuan, computer science and engineering; David Kirkner, civil engineering and geological sciences; Craig Lent, electrical engineering; Edward Maginn, chemical engineering.
  • In the College of Science: Gary Belovsky, Gary Lamberti, Joseph O’Tousa and Michelle Whaley, biological sciences; Seth Brown and Xavier Creary, chemistry and biochemistry; Neil Cason and Umesh Garg, physics; Bei Hu and Gerard Misiolek, mathematics.
  • In the Mendoza College of Business: Carl Ackermann, finance; Robert Drevs, Patrick Murphy and John Weber, marketing; Margot O’Brien and James Wittenbach, accountancy.
  • In the School of Architecture: Dennis Doordan.

Originally published by Susan Guibert at newsinfo.nd.edu on May 09, 2006.