Directors of Undergraduate Studies and Academic Advisers

Departments, Majors, and Special Courses of Study


Africana Studies

Bernard Forjwuor
bforjwuo@nd.edu

American Studies

Peter Cajka, DUS
pcajka@nd.edu

       Jason Kelly, Interim Director John W. Gallivan Program in Journalism, Ethics & Democracy (JED) minor
       jkelly30@nd.edu

Anthropology

Eric Haanstad
ejhaanstad@nd.edu

Arabic & Middle Eastern Studies

Ghada Bualuan
gbualuan@nd.edu

Art, Art History and Design

Elyse Speaks, DUS
espeaks@nd.edu

      Ann-Marie Conrado, Director Collaborative Innovation
      aconrado@nd.edu

Arts and Letters Pre-Health Supplementary Major

Maureen Dawson
mdawson3@nd.edu

Classics

Catherine Schlegel
schlegel.1@nd.edu

East Asian Languages and Cultures

Michael Brownstein
mbrownst@nd.edu

Economics

Forrest Spence
fspence@nd.edu

Education, Schooling & Society

Andrea Christensen
achrist1@nd.edu

English

Laura Betz, DUS
laura.w.betz.7@nd.edu

      Azareen Van Der Vliet Oloomi, Director Creative Writing
      Azareen.VanDerVlietOloomi.1@nd.edu

Film, Television, and Theatre

Michael Kackman, DUS
mkackman@nd.edu

      Matt Hawkins, Director Musical Theatre minor 
      mhawkin2@nd.edu

Gender Studies

Pamela Butler
pbutler1@nd.edu

German and Russian Languages and Literatures

Denise DellaRossa, DUS German
dellarossa.1@nd.edu

Tetyana Shlikhar, DUS Russian
tshlikha@nd.edu

History

James (Jake) Lundberg
lundberg.10@nd.edu

Irish Language and Literature and Irish Studies

Peter McQuillan
Peter.T.McQuillan.4@nd.edu

Latino Studies

Karen Richman
richman.2@nd.edu

Mathematics (Honors)

Andrei Jorza
ajorza@nd.edu

Medieval Studies

Christopher Miller
cmille34@nd.edu

Music

Daniel Schlosberg
dschlosb@nd.edu

Philosophy

Alex Jech
ajech@nd.edu

Political Science

Joshua Kaplan, DUS
kaplan.4@nd.edu

Angela McCarthy, Associate DUS
amccar22@nd.edu

Program of Liberal Studies

Eric Bugyis
Eric.Bugyis.1@nd.edu

Psychology

Anre Venter
venter.1@nd.edu

      Bradley Gibson, Co-Director (AL) NSBH
      bgibson@nd.edu

Romance Languages and Literatures

Keith Schaefer
kschaef2@nd.edu

      Claire Reising, Associate DUS - French
      creisin2@nd.edu

      Katie Boyle, Associate DUS - Italian
      kboyle6@nd.edu

      Marcio Bahia, Associate DUS - Portuguese
      mbahia@nd.edu

      Katie Oswald, Associate DUS - Spanish
      kperry4@nd.edu

Sociology

Mim Thomas
mim.t.thomas.213@nd.edu

Theology

Anthony Pagliarini
pagliarini.3@nd.edu
 

Institutes and Minor Programs

Catholic Social Tradition

Bill Purcell, co-director
wpurcell@nd.edu

David Lantigua, co-director
dlantigu@nd.edu

Center for the Study of Languages and Cultures

Alessia Blad, Director
Alessia.Blad.3@nd.edu

Mary Davis, Assistant Director (Linguistics and TESOL minors)
mdavis35@nd.edu

College Seminar

Bert Lott
jlott2@nd.edu

Glynn Family Honors Program

Margaret Meserve
mmeserv1@nd.edu

Hesburgh Program in Public Service

Claudia Francis
Claudia.F.Anewalt.1@nd.edu

Philosophy, Politics and Economics

Paul Weithman
Paul.J.Weithman.1@nd.edu

Philosophy, Religion, and Literature

Susannah Monta
susannah.b.monta.1@nd.edu

Philosophy, Science, and Mathematics

Tim Bays
bays.5@nd.edu

Reilly Center for Science, Technology and Values

      Anna Geltzer, Acting Director Health, Humanities, and Society  (HHS) Minor
      ageltzer@nd.edu

      Anna Geltzer, DUS Science, Technology and Values (STV) Minor
      ageltzer@nd.edu

      Patrick Gamez, DUS Dual Degree Program in Engineering and Arts and Letters
      pgamez@nd.edu

Sport, Media, and Culture

Annie Coleman
acolema3@nd.edu

Technology and Digital Studies Programs

      Aaron Striegel, DUS Bachelor of Arts in Computer Science
      striegel@nd.edu

      Mim Thomas, Advisor, Minor in Data Science
      mim.t.thomas.213@nd.edu

      John Behrens, Director Idzik Computing & Digital Technologies Program (CDT minor)
      jbehrens@nd.edu

University Writing Program

Patrick Clauss
Clauss.2@nd.edu

 

Resources

Center for Social Concerns

Suzanne Shanahan, Executive Director
sshanah2@nd.edu

Jay Brandenberger, Associate Director
jbranden@nd.edu

Flatley Center for Undergraduate Scholarly Engagement

Jeffrey Thibert
jthibert@nd.edu

 

(For a list of the Arts and Letters undergraduate advising deans, please click or tap here.)