AAAS Fellows

Aaas Seal

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the nation's oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers. It convenes leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to address critical challenges facing our global society.

Of Notre Dame’s 25 American Academy of Arts and Sciences fellows, 23 are affiliated with the College of Arts and Letters.

Recent elections include Karl Ameriks, the McMahon-Hank Professor of Philosophy; Scott Appleby, a professor of history and Marilyn Keough Dean of the Keough School of Global Affairs; Robert Audi, John A. O'Brien Professor of Philosophy; University President John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., a longstanding member of the Department of Philosophy faculty; George Marsden, the Francis A. McAnaney Professor of History emeritus; and Jean Porter, the John A. O’Brien Professor of Theology.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellows from the College of Arts and Letters