Aquinas at 800: “Ad multos annos”

Call for papers is now closed. Registration and practical information coming soon.

Aquinas at 800

This conference celebrates the 800th anniversary of the birth of Thomas Aquinas, exploring the ongoing importance of his thought to contemporary cultural, philosophical, and theological discussions.

The comprehensive and systematic character of Aquinas’ thought has for centuries informed inquiry into questions of human dignity, freedom, economic development, work, poverty, the environment, and other issues of global significance.

In gathering many of the most accomplished contemporary scholars of Aquinas’ thought from throughout the world working on themes in Ethics, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Anthropology, Political Theory, Christology, Trinitarian Theology, Sacramental Theology and Ecclesiology, among others, the conference will promote fruitful interchange of diverse perspectives on the importance of Aquinas in the world today.

Keynote Speakers

Serge Thomas Bonino

Serge-Thomas Bonino, O.P.

Dean of the Faculty of Philosophy
Pontifical University of St. Thomas (Angelicum), Rome

Jean Porter

Jean Porter

John A. O’Brien Professor of Theology
University of Notre Dame, United States

Rudi Te Velde

Rudi te Velde

Professor of Philosophy
Tilburg School of Catholic Theology, Tilburg University, Netherlands

Fr Thomas Joseph White

Thomas Joseph White, O.P.

Rector Magnificus
Pontifical University of St. Thomas (Angelicum), Rome

In addition, more than 30 invited speakers have committed to presenting in semi-plenary sessions, and over 120 speakers will present submitted papers in concurrent sessions.
Conference Schedule
Conference Sponsors

The "Aquinas at 800: Ad multos annos" conference is taking place thanks to the generosity of our campus partners at the University of Notre Dame and Saint Mary's College. Thank you to our sponsors:

  • Office of the Provost
  • Office of the Dean of the College of Arts & Letters
  • Office of Mission Engagement and Church Affairs
  • Institute for Scholarship in the Liberal Arts
  • Jacques Maritain Center
  • McMahon Aquinas Chair in Philosophy, Saint Mary's College
  • Nanovic Institute for European Studies
  • Medieval Institute
  • McGrath Institute for Church Life
  • de Nicola Center for Ethics and Culture
  • Center for Citizenship and Constitutional Government
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Theology