Events

Monday, November 22, 2021

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Wednesday, November 24, 2021

Thursday, November 25, 2021

Friday, November 26, 2021

Saturday, November 27, 2021

Sunday, November 28, 2021

Monday, November 29, 2021

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

Lecture: "What Can Systemic Trends in Warfare Tell Us About the Future"

-

Location: 1030 JNH

Bear F. Braumoeller is the Professor in the Department of Political Science at The Ohio State University and the holder of the Baronov and Timashev Chair in Data Analytics. His present work focuses on the decline-of-war thesis, the relationship between international order and international conflict, and causal inference based on observational data.

Read More

Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Book Launch: "Wastepaper Modernism"

-

Location: TBD

The Institute is pleased to co-sponsor with the Program in Liberal Studies the launch of a new book by Joseph Rosenberg, Assistant Professor, Program of Liberal Studies. Having its roots in the late nineteenth century, but finding its fullest expression in the wake of the high-modernist experimentation with novelistic form, “wastepaper modernism” arises when fiction imagines its own processes of transmission and representation breaking down. When the descriptive capabilities of the novel exhaust themselves, the wastepaper modernists picture instead the physical decay of the book’s own primary matter. In bringing this imagination of fragility and decay to light, Wastepaper Modernism uncovers an apprehension about the status of literature as a medium that long precedes current concerns about the death of the book.

Read More

Thursday, December 2, 2021