Reading and Talk: Poet Micheal O'Siadhail


Location: Room 1050 Jenkins Nanovic Hall

Poet Micheal O'Siadhail, whose latest book is the award-winning The Five Quintents, will give a reading and talk.

Mr. O'Siadhail has published 16 collections of poetry. He was awarded an Irish American Cultural Institute prize for poetry in 1982 and in 1998 the Marten Toonder Prize for Literature. The Five Quintets received the Conference on Christianity and Literature’s 2019 book of the year award.

His poem suites, The Naked FlameSummerfest and Earlsfort Suite were commissioned and set to music for performance and broadcasting.

His collections of poetry are The Leap Year (1978), Rungs of Time (1980), Belonging (1982), Springnight (1983), The Image Wheel (1985), The Chosen Garden (1990), Hail! Madam Jazz: New and Selected Poems (Bloodaxe Books 1992), A Fragile City (Bloodaxe Books 1995), Our Double Time (Bloodaxe Books 1998), Poems 1975-1995: Hail! Madam Jazz and A Fragile City (Bloodaxe Books 1999), The Gossamer Wall (Bloodaxe Books and Time Being Books 2002), Love Life (Bloodaxe Books 2005), Globe (Bloodaxe Books 2007) and Tongues (Bloodaxe Books 2010), Collected Poems (Bloodaxe Books 2013), One Crimson Thread (Bloodaxe Books 2015), The Five Quintets (Baylor University Press 2018).

Read more about Mr. O'Siadhail at his website.

The Five Quintets Cover Small 188x300


Originally published at