Graduate Student Mentorship Award

Established in 2022–23 by Dean Sarah Mustillo, the Arts & Letters Graduate Student Mentorship Award is presented annually to one member of the tenured faculty in the College who has demonstrated outstanding scholarly mentorship of, and professional care for, doctoral or MFA students. The ideal candidate will have a strong and sustained record of extensive graduate mentorship, evidenced by uncommon student success (e.g., graduation rates, publications, and placements). They should also have a consistent and extraordinary commitment to developing students as teachers and departmental citizens. This individual must have been on the faculty at Notre Dame for at least 5 consecutive years.

Nomination process

One nomination per department, submitted by the department chairperson. Departments may develop their own procedures to determine their nominee (but are strongly encouraged to consult with their graduate students). Students and faculty may not independently submit nominations.


Sept. 19, 2022 — Nominations open. Each department with a doctoral or MFA program may put forward one nominee. Initial nominations should include the faculty member's CV and a paragraph briefly stating why the nominee was chosen relative to the selection criteria. 

Oct. 14, 2022 — Deadline to submit paragraphs and CVs to the dean's office. 

Oct. 25, 2022 — Selection committee meets to review chairs’ nominees and creates a shortlist of 3 to 4 finalist candidates. 
Oct. 31, 2022 — Relevant chairs will be asked to prepare full nomination packets for finalist candidates (2-page letter of nomination, updated CV, letters of recommendation from 3 past mentees (up to 1 current student), list of student placements/current positions).  

Jan. 23, 2023 — Full nomination packets from chairs due back to the dean’s office.
Feb. 21, 2023 — Selection committee chooses a winner.
Feb. 27, 2023 — Winner notified and invited to present brief remarks at the spring faculty meeting

May 2, 2023 — Award presentation at the College's annual spring faculty meeting