Directors of Undergraduate Studies

Departments, Majors, and Special Courses of Study


Africana Studies

Maria McKenna
mmckenn9@nd.edu

Arts and Letters Pre-Health

Vicki Toumayan
vtoumaya@nd.edu

American Studies

Sophie White
swhite1@nd.edu

Anthropology

Eric Haanstad
ejhaanstad@nd.edu

Arabic & Middle Eastern Studies

Ghada Bualuan
gbualuan@nd.edu

Art, Art History and Design

Emily Beck
beck.38@nd.edu 

Robin Rhodes, Advising
rhodes.7@nd.edu

Liu Institute

Patrick Deegan
pdeegan@nd.edu

Classics

Catherine Schlegel
schlegel.1@nd.edu

College Seminar

Essaka Joshua
ejoshua@nd.edu

Computing & Digital Technologies

Charles Crowell
ccrowell@nd.edu

East Asian Studies

Xiaoshan Yang
xyang@nd.edu

Economics

Mary Flannery
flannery.17@nd.edu

English

Laura Betz
laura.w.betz.7@nd.edu

Film, Television, and Theatre

Michael Kackman 
mkackman@nd.edu

Gender Studies

Pamela Butler
pbutler1@nd.edu

German and Russian Studies

Denise DellaRossa, German
dellarossa.1@nd.edu

David Gasperetti, Russian
David.W.Gasperetti.2@nd.edu

History

James (Jake) Lundberg
lundberg.10@nd.edu

Irish Language and Literature

Tara MacLeod
macLeod.15@nd.edu

Latino Studies

Karen Richman
richman.2@nd.edu

Mathematics (Honors)

Liviu Nicolaescu
nicolaescu.1@nd.edu

Sonja Mapes Szekelyhidi
smapes1@nd.edu

Medieval Studies

Linda Major
lmajor@nd.edu

Music

John Blacklow
jblacklow@nd.edu

Peace Studies

Ernesto Verdeja, Director
everdeja@nd.edu

Anna Van Overberghe, Asst. Director
avanove1@nd.edu

Philosophy

Alex Jech
ajech@nd.edu

Political Science

Joshua Kaplan
kaplan.4@nd.edu

Carolina Arroyo
carroyo@nd.edu

Program of Liberal Studies

Joseph Rosenberg
jrosenbe@nd.edu

Psychology

Anre Venter
venter.1@nd.edu

Romance Languages and Literatures

Shauna Williams
shauna.l.williams.336@nd.edu

Sociology

Mim Thomas
mim.t.thomas.213@nd.edu

Theology

Ann Astell
astell.1@nd.edu

Anthony Pagliarini, Assistant
pagliarini.3@nd.edu
 

Institutes and Minor Programs

Catholic Social Tradition

Todd Whitmore, co-director
whitmore.1@nd.edu

Bill Purcell, co-director
wpurcell@nd.edu

Center for Social Concerns

Cindy Voll
voll.1@nd.edu

Center for the Study of Languages and Cultures

Brian O'conchubhair, Director
o'conchubhair.1@nd.edu

Maggie Vosters , Associate Director
mvosters@nd.edu

Computing & Digital Technology

Charles Crowell
ccrowell@nd.edu

Creative Writing

Steve Tomasula
steve.tomasula@nd.edu

Education, Schooling & Society

Ann Primus Berends
a.berends@nd.edu

Flatley Center for Undergraduate Scholarly Engagement

JeffreyThibert
jthibert@nd.edu

Hesbrgh Program in Public Service

Ricardo Ramirez, Director
ramirez.83@nd.edu

Claudia Anewalt-Remsburg, Asst. Director
Claudia.F.Anewalt.1@nd.edu

International Development Studies

Steve Reifenberg
sreifenb@nd.edu

Holly Rivers, advisor
rivers.7@nd.edu

Irish Studies

Mary O'Callaghan
Mary.T.O'callaghan.8@nd.edu

Journalism, Ethics & Democracy

Richard Jones
richard.jones@nd.edu

Linguistics Minor

Brian O'Conchubhair
brian.oconchubhair.1@nd.edu

Liturgical Music Ministry

Margot Fassler
margot.fassler@nd.edu

Mediterranean/Middle East Studies

Ghada Bualuan
gbualuan@nd.edu

Nanovic Institute for European Studies

Chris Stump
cstump@nd.edu

Philosophy, Politics and Economics

Paul Weithman
mpweithma@nd.edu

Philosophy, Religion, and Literature

Christopher Shields - co-director
cshield3@nd.edu

Susannah Monta - co-director
susannah.b.monta.1@nd.edu

Philosophy, Science and Mathematics

Tim Bays
bays.5@nd.edu

Philosophy with the Catholic Tradition

John O’Callaghan
o’callaghan.1@nd.edu

Portuguese and Brazilian Studies

Shauna Williams
shauna.l.williams.366@nd.edu

Poverty Studies

Jennifer Warlick, director
jwarlick@nd.edu

Reilly Center for Science, Technology and Values

Anna Geltzer
ageltzer@nd.edu

Sustainability Studies

Rachel Novick
rnovick@nd.edu

TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)

Brian O'Conchubhair
oconchubhair.1@nd.edu

University Writing Program

John Duffy
jduffy@nd.edu